- Gay News | The Advocate | The World's Leading Source for LGBT News and Entertainment

Thursday, February 18, 2010

GLAAD announces categories and host cities for its 21st Annual Media Awards

This year Gays and Lesbians Allied Against Defamation (GLAAD), the nonprofit known for protesting negative and honoring positive portrayals of LGBT people in the media, has announced 152 nominees in 24 English and eight Spanish-language categories for its 21st Annual Media Awards ceremony.  

The GLAAD Media Awards has grown considerably in size and scope since its first awards event in 1990, when there were 34 nominees in seven categories. GLAAD now must narrow which categories it presents onstage, carefully selecting awards that reflect a mix of print, broadcast and online news, entertainment and Spanish-language media.

The following list highlights categories GLAAD tentatively plans to present onstage at the event. If a category is not listed below, the award will not be given out onstage this year.  Award recipients in categories not given onstage will be listed in the national program book and announced immediately following the New York event.

New York – March 13
Outstanding Drama Series
Outstanding TV Movie or Mini-Series
Outstanding TV Journalism Segment
Outstanding Digital Journalism Article

Los Angeles – April 17
Outstanding Film - Wide Release
Outstanding Comedy Series
Outstanding Reality Program
Outstanding Spanish-Language TV Journalism Segment

San Francisco – June 5
Outstanding Documentary
Outstanding Music Artist

Learn more about the GLAAD Media Awards and view its list of candidates at


Post a Comment